Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee  is one of the two sub committees of the Board of Trustees (BOT). Its primary function is to review IHI’s scientific strategies and advise the BOT on the most appropriate pathway. The committee meets twice a year and deliberates on current programs and also future plans. Based on these deliberations, the committee advises the BOT on key areas of investment, and also on core focus areas to be pursued in the subsequent period. The Scientific Advisory Committee membership is predominantly from outside Ifakara Health Institute. Prof. Sylvia Kaaya was elected Chair of the committee on 28th November 2016.

  1. Chairperson: Prof. Sylvia Kaaya, (Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences)
  2. Secretary: Dr. Fredros Okumu (Director of Science, Ifakara Health Institute)
  3. Member: Prof. Karim Manji (Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, MUHAS
  4. Member: Prof. Sharon Fonn (University of the Witwatesrand, South Africa, Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, South Africa)
  5. Member: Prof.  Lucy Chen (Peking University, Shanghai, China)
  6. Member: Dr. Hassan Mshinda (Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH), Tanzania)
  7. Member: Prof. Marcel Tanner, (Swiss TPH, Switzerland)
  8. Member: Dr. Honorati Masanja (Chief ExecutiveDirector, Ifakara Health Institute)
  9. Member: Prof.  Saidi Kapiga (Mwanza Interventions Trials Unit, Tanzania




© Ifakara Health Institute (IHI), 2016