× Home Projects Partners FAQs Contacts

IMPACT: Ifakara researcher appointed trustee of UK royal charity

Nov. 11, 2021
IMPACT: Ifakara researcher appointed trustee of UK royal charity

Ifakara Health Institute physician and clinical research scientist, Dr. Said Jongo, has been appointed trustee of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (RSTMH) effective October 2021. Dr. Jongo joins the other 16 trustees of the Society.

Dr. Jongo’s name is listed on the Society’s website along with Prof. Janet Hemingway, Prof. Simon Bush, Prof. David Mabey, Prof. Gail Davey, Tim Hazell, Sarah Rafferty, Karen Brady, Prof. Diana Lockwood, Buddha Basnyat, Prof. Olufemi O. Adewole, Prof. Jimmy Whitworth, Prof.  Bridget Wills, Prof. George M Varghese, Prof. Pramod Samantaray, and Dr. Yusuff Quudus.

RSTMH is governed by a Board of 16 Trustees that is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the charity. Nine Trustees are elected from the membership base and are usually scientists or clinicians; five are appointed from other sectors to bring specific skills and expertise to the Board.

About the RSTMH
The Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene is a charity and membership society that has been dedicated to improving tropical medicine and global health since 1907. The Society’s ambition is to save lives and improve health around the world through increased access to and greater equity in global healthcare.

Through its activities, the Society helps further members’ careers and harness their collective knowledge and expertise to achieve change within the sector. Members of the Society, based in over 90 countries, are at all stages of their careers, working across a multitude of disciplines and from a range of sectors.

The Society, located in London, is governed by a Board of Trustees. It received a "Royal" designation from King George V in 1920, and the royal connection has been maintained ever since; Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is the Society’s Patron. More about the RSTMH here.